# MACON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS MAY 8, 2012 AGENDA

- 1. Call to order and welcome by Chairman Corbin
- 2. Announcements
- 3. Moment of Silence
- 4. Pledge of Allegiance
- 5. Public Hearing(s) **6 p.m.** Public Hearing on the 2012 Update to the Ten-Year Solid Waste Management Plan: NOTE: The Board will consider a resolution accepting and endorsing the updated plan immediately following the public hearing.
- 6. Public Comment Period

NOTE: At this time, the board will recess the meeting until Tuesday, May 15, 2012 at 6 p.m. in the commissioners' boardroom on the third floor of the Macon County Courthouse, 5 West Main Street, Franklin, NC

- 7. Adjustments to and approval of the agenda
- 8. Reports/Presentations
- 9. Old Business
  - A. Official appointment of Chester Jones as County Attorney

#### 10.New Business

- A. Presentation of the proposed Fiscal Year 2012-13 budget County Manager
- B. Resolution requesting that the North Carolina General Assembly postpone making changes to the structure of mental health boards Commissioner Beale
- C. Renewal of lease with Franklin Gem & Mineral Society County Manager

- D. Request for use of county property by The Franklin Archers Commissioner Beale/County Manager/County Attorney
- E. Denture Fee Plan Macon County Public Health
- F. Change Order on Iotla Valley Elementary School project County Manager
- G. Request for permission to conduct fireworks display Franklin Area Chamber of Commerce
- H. Discussion regarding video sweepstakes machines

#### 11.Consent Agenda – Attachment #11

All items below are considered routine and will be enacted by one motion. No separate discussion will be held except on request of a member of the Board of Commissioners.

- A. Minutes of the April 9th, 10th, 19th and 26th meetings
- B. Budget revisions #182 and 183
- C. Tax Releases (none)
- D. Resolution Requiring Tax Certification Prior to Recording Deeds in Macon County

### 12. Appointments

- A. Airport Authority
- B. Board of Adjustment
- C. Community Funding Pool
- D. Economic Development Commission
- E. Farmland Preservation
- F. Health Board
- G. Jury Commission
- H. Planning Board
- I. Recreation Board
- J. Tourism Development Committee Franklin/Nantahala
- K. Franklin (Town) Board of Adjustment/Extraterritorial Jurisdiction (ETJ) representative
- L. Watershed Review Board

## 13. Closed session (if necessary)

## 14.Adjournment/Recess